£25,000 for Stimulating Physics Network in Wales

10 December 2014

The Welsh Government has awarded £25,000 to the Institute of Physics (IOP) to run its Stimulating Physics Network programme in Wales.


The funding will enable the Institute to manage its highly successful programme of support for teachers of physics across 12 secondary schools around Wrexham and Newport, and is part of a wider project being led by Wales’ Techniquest to encourage girls to study physics post-16.

Education Minister Huw Lewis said: “We are serious about getting more young people to study science subjects, including, of course, physics. These subjects offer so much potential for a stimulating, financially rewarding career. But just as importantly, they can be great fun and open the mind to a whole new world of possibilities. 

“That’s why we recently launched our “Qualified for Life – Focus on Science” campaign, which encourages more young people and, in particular, girls to consider science based careers and why we are pleased to support programmes like the Stimulating Physics Network. 

“I’m sure that the excellent work that the IOP carries out with its partners and schools will encourage more young people, regardless of gender or background, to continue to study physics and go on to consider a physics based-career.”          

The IOP’s president, Frances Saunders, said: “We’re delighted that Welsh school children will be able to benefit from a new Network. The schools that have participated in the SPN in England have seen notable increases in students choosing to take physics; an enabling subject that significantly brightens students’ prospects.”

The Stimulating Physics Network works with schools to increase the number of students going on to study A-level physics. It provides personalised mentoring for new physics teachers each year; continuing professional development (CPD) for all teachers of physics and a number of free four-day summer schools for teachers without a specialist background in physics.

The SPN will be working with six schools in North Wales:

  • Holywell High School
  • Ysgol Bryn Alyn
  • Rhosnesni High School
  • Ysgol Clywedog
  • Flint High School
  • John Summers High

And six school in South Wales:

  • West Monmouth School
  • Fairwater High School
  • Llantarnam School
  • St Julian’s School
  • Lliswerry High School
  • Abersychan School

You can find more information about the Stimulating Physics Network at www.stimulatingphysics.org

Related information

Cookie Settings